1. Home
  2. >>
  3. windows
  4. >>
  5. What happens when you reset network settings on Windows 10

What happens when you reset network settings on Windows 10



What happens when you reset network settings on Windows 10


Windows 10 often suffers from numerous network connection problems. While some are Wi-Fi related, others range from adapters, Bluetooth, VPN, and more. When solving these problems, one of the most used tips is to reset the network settings.

I’m pretty sure you must have several questions related to it, such as what does network reset do? What happens to the files? Will you be able to connect to the Internet? Whether it is safe to restore them or not and similar questions. So, in this post, in addition to telling you how to reset the network, we will dive deep into the consequences of the reset. Let’s begin.

What is Network Reset

Put simply, network reset or network settings reset restores all network related features and settings to their original values ​​- factory state. These include Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, VPN, network and Ethernet adapters.

Everything in Settings> Network and Internet will return to default values. The original or default values ​​refer to the values ​​present in a new PC or after a factory reset where the settings are not changed. If you have customized a network setting on your PC, all these customized settings will be reset. For example, if you have Airplane mode turned on, it will be turned off as it is the default behavior.

We understand in detail its repercussions on each environment.

WiFi networks

The most obvious result of resetting the network settings is that you won’t be able to use the internet right away. This is because all of your saved Wi-Fi networks would be eliminated. You will need to re-type the password for your current network to use it. So, before resetting the network, make sure you have your Wi-Fi details.

In addition to passwords, Wi-Fi networks will also lose any custom changes you’ve made to them. These include metered connection, DNS modification, and more.

Also, you will need to set the detection type for your networks again. By default, they will be kept as public. The file and printer sharing settings will also be reset.

To change the discoverable mode of the network to Private, go to Windows Settings (Windows key + I). Then go to Network and Internet> Wi-Fi. On the Wi-Fi page, click Manage known network settings. Then click on the network and press the Properties box. Choose Private in Network Profile.

Ethernet networks

Resetting the network settings also hinders Ethernet and dial-up connections. Similar to Wi-Fi, you’ll have to set them up again from scratch. Be sure to write down its settings in case you are not familiar with them.

Bluetooth connections

Another type of connection that is affected by network recovery includes Bluetooth connections. Similar to Wi-Fi and Ethernet connections, all history related to paired Bluetooth devices will be cleared. Then, you will have to pair all your devices again.

VPN connections

Resetting the network settings also affects the VPN settings. If you have created a VPN connection, your PC has forgotten all its details. Also, if you’ve used third party VPN client or similar network software, you will need to set them up again.

Network adapters

Network reset erases all network adapters installed on the PC. However, that doesn’t mean you’ll have to manually reinstall them. The adapters will be reinstalled automatically from the PC after reboot. Also, all settings for the adapters will be reset to the default or original configuration. So if you have changed, you will have to set them up again.

What happens to personal data and files

You don’t have to worry about your personal data as it remains unaffected by the network reset. That is, nothing happens to the downloaded files or existing data present in your PC.

How to restore the network

Here are the steps to reset the network on Windows 10.

Step 1: Open Settings on your PC by clicking on the Start menu and then pressing the Settings icon. Alternatively, use the Windows key + I shortcut to open Settings.

Step 2: go to Network and Internet.

Step 3: choose Status from the left sidebar. Then scroll down and click Network Reset.

Step 4: you will be asked to confirm your decision to reset the network settings. Click Restore Now to start the process.

Step 5: after startup, the command prompt it will open automatically and your PC will make the necessary changes. A message will appear asking you to restart your PC to complete the process.

Once restarted, the changes mentioned above will take effect.

Got it then?

Since network reset removes all connection settings you have set, you should always use it as a last resort method of troubleshooting. This will help avoid unnecessary trouble and set everything up again. That said, resetting the network is in no way harmful to your PC. As mentioned before, your files remain intact.